ART LIVES HERE

Creative Life in the Gateway Arts District

Meet Nicole Moore, Visual Artist and Fashion Designer

150918_ALH2_702

Nicole Moore, photographed by Charles Steck

Meet Mount Rainier Artist Lofts resident and artist Nicole Moore, whose versatile creations includes one-of-a-kind jewelry pieces and handbags as well as two-dimensional artwork.

How did you discover the medium you currently work in?

As a child, I learned to sew and make other things. I enjoyed art in school. I started designing and making jewelry while entertaining out of town guests. I dabbled in paint in school, in my home and in my friends’ homes. Most of my creativity comes naturally. I grow by continuing to experiment.

150918_ALH2_763

Nicole Moore, photographed by Charles Steck

How do you define “artist”?

An individual who is able to manifest their vision into something tangible.

How did you discover the Gateway Arts District?

I am a resident of Mount Rainier.

If you could give your younger self a piece of advice about being an artist, what would it be?

Create focus with fervor. Take more classes in art.

What drives you?

My creativity can be driven by internal thoughts and/or external experiences. Nature, dreams, actual life experiences, media, social media are all driving forces for me.

150918_ALH2_773

Nicole Moore, photographed by Charles Steck

What is your greatest challenge as an artist?

Making time for all of my creative interests.

What are you working on right now?

I am preparing for the 2016 Open Studio Tour. Come out and visit my studio at the Mount Rainier Artists Lofts from noon to 4pm on May 14, 2016.

Are you an artist? We want to get to know you! Click here to do our artist interview!

About Anne L'Ecuyer

Anne is a strategist, facilitator and consultant who stays closely connected to an international network of city leaders, cultural professionals, and individual artists. She is an expert in the creative industries and cultural tourism in the United States, as well as the contributions of the arts toward educational, social, and environmental goals.

Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

