ART LIVES HERE

Creative Life in the Gateway Arts District

Meet Gary Coletrane, Visual Artist

Meet Mount Rainier Artists Lofts resident, Gary Coletrane. This mixed media artist shares his advice for a beautiful creative life and gives us a sneak peek into what he’s working on today.

How did you discover the medium you currently work in?

Art LIves Here-3345.jpgOver the course of time, the discovery process evolved after sculpting slightly raised surfaces. I create two-dimensional textured surfaces using acrylic paint, fabric, sand, leather, and I alter the form of shapes for the creation of low and high bas-reliefs.

How do you define “artist”?

As an artist, I am a solution-minded individual and an innovative thinker.

How did you discover the Gateway Arts District?

Nearly twelve years ago, I stumbled upon the Gateway Arts District, and I’ve lived and worked in my loft studio ever since. It’s proven a favorable and rewarding experience.

Art LIves Here-3313.jpgIf you could give your younger self a piece of advice about being an artist, what would it be?

I would advise my younger self these key ingredients:

  1. Foremost, seek God’s direction, wisdom, and strategy for my life!
  2. Establish a vision for my life, and set my “face as a flint!”
  3. Develop a constituency of “like-minded” individuals!
  4. Pursue my life purpose with a passion!
  5. Do not relent, persevere despite the obstacles with a strong finish!

What drives you?

I believe creativity remains a priceless commodity, and I enjoy the process. Furthermore, I receive great satisfaction knowing full well I’ve rendered services for the requested or commissioned assignment.

What is your greatest challenge as an artist?

My greatest challenge involves the tension around work in development and the completion of projects. I often see more that is possible in existing work.

What are you working on right now?

I’m excited about the series of my current mixed media compositions with music as the central theme, and welcome more conversations with collectors and curators about the direction of this new work.

Are you an artist? We want to get to know you! Click here to do our artist interview!

About Anne L'Ecuyer

Anne is a strategist, facilitator and consultant who stays closely connected to an international network of city leaders, cultural professionals, and individual artists. She is an expert in the creative industries and cultural tourism in the United States, as well as the contributions of the arts toward educational, social, and environmental goals.

One comment on “Meet Gary Coletrane, Visual Artist

  1. PHILIPPA SMITH-TYLER
    April 5, 2016

    One of my favorite artists, Gary Coltrane is the most consistent pursuer of creative and exciting visual stimuli. His 3-dimensional portraits (Dorothy Heights, Gary’s mother, to name a few) and landscapes bring personalities and environments to life in brilliant color and vibrancy. I love his work!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Tweet Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

