ART LIVES HERE

Creative Life in the Gateway Arts District

An Art Lives Here Exclusive: Artist Tim McLoraine Talks Video Exploration and Collaboration

Art Lives Here has a long history with Tim McLoraine. From JewelBox to Open Studios Tour, McLoraine has been an incredible force of creative energy and positive vibes in the Gateway Arts District. His video installation ALL THAT WE SEE OR SEEM opens in the 39th Street Gallery January 2nd. In the middle of the busy holiday season, McLoraine graciously and generously took some time to talk with us about his artistic life and work.

Meet Tim McLoraine

mcloraine

Photo courtesy of artist

How did you discover the medium you currently work in?

I came to video art by a circuitous route. After having studied classical music and worked as a musician most of my life, I was invited to assistant direct an opera at the Kennedy Center by my friend Doug Fitch, the designer and director. This was back in 2006. The production included a substantial amount of video, and I worked with the designers to integrate the visuals with the music. As Doug and I continued to collaborate, and I began designing the video for some of his productions.

During this time I also began collaborating with my husband, Jim Ross, who is a conductor of orchestras. Jim is a true innovator in the world of classical music performance, and I have had the great joy of designing video for some of his concerts at the University of Maryland. More recently, I have been creating video intended for galleries and public spaces.

How do you define “artist”?

Cleverer minds than mine have tried to define the term artist, but I can say that my attraction to creating visual art is practically identical to what drew me into classical music. I would like to spend my time and my energies exploring the complexity of the human condition in those places where language falls short. I want to be an explorer.

How did you discover the Gateway Arts District?

I was lucky to meet State Delegate Jimmy Tarlau through mutual friends while house hunting years ago. He spoke highly of his town of Mount Rainier – a place I had never heard of. We began walking our dogs around town to get a feeling for the place and were immediately drawn to the friendliness of the people.

The Gateway Arts District has provided me with so much for which I am extremely grateful. I’ve been lucky to participate as an Artist In Residence at both the Gateway Arts Center and now at Red Dirt Studio.

What are you working on right now?

Next up for me is an installation at the 39th Street Gallery titled “All that we see or seem.” The opening reception is January 2nd from 6-8pm, and the video will show for the entire month. I am excited to show in that space given its wonderful history in the community and the greater DC region.

I am also currently designing video for two productions opening this spring. The first is a set of two operas being performed at National Sawdust in Brooklyn, NY – a brand new performance space cultivating innovative performance. I’m looking forward to collaborating with a very interesting team that includes a composer, a designer, a filmmaker, and a choreographer.

After that, I’ll be having my first experience designing for a stage play at Theatre J in Washington, DC. The play is very interesting and the production consists of two actors and two video screens. I’m looking forward to creating a world for the characters to inhabit.

If you could give your younger self a piece of advice about being an artist, what would it be?

Don’t wait until you think you are ready.

Video Still from "All that we see or seem"

Video Still from “All that we see or seem”

39th Street Gallery and Corridor Exhibition Space
39(Second Floor, 39th Street Entrance)
3901 Rhode Island Ave
Brentwood MD 20722

A Project of the Gateway Community Development Corporation.
John Paradiso – Curator of Programs

About neenajoe

Joe’s Movement Emporium is a cultural arts hub that acts as a catalyst for creativity and economic opportunity for all through productions and programs in education, artist services and work readiness. Located in the town center of Mount Rainier, Maryland within the Prince George’s County Gateway Arts District, the organization supports and promotes creative projects of local artists and community groups. For additional information on programs and events, please visit www.joesmovement.org

Leave a Reply

Most Clicked

  • None
